lOvE mE, lOvE mE nOt…

I don’t know much about hyenas 

but I know much about love…

Not because I’d been in it for too long

But beause I’d been in captivity 

the most times alone . . . 

They say there’s nothing worse than that

and I believe them

I’ve seen my eyes pierce a heart

made of the hardest of steel,

yet I couldn’t make it bleed

my heart has melted the purest of gold

and yet still, 

none I could turn into riches 

Have I been so wrong the whole time

about love? 

OR is my fragile heart too perky and sublime

for it to harbor? 

A sublimity that’s better off alone.

Or maybe nothing fits

And my size 10 sneakers

are too large for you to sit

Or maybe I have too small a heart,

too little to have you live in it;

you for whom the heart tolls.

But what happens 

when the curtains open?

would you be there to hold my hand? 

Would you lOvE mE still,

or would you lOvE mE nOt?

But I know that smile already, 

and you’re just gonna leave anyway… 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

