Aide-Mémoire

I saw her

stealing glances at me,

smiling with a courteous face

like that of a little kid.

I move but she doesn’t.

She’s only on the billboards,

but she reminds me of her…

I saw her

from the third floor.

My eyes pierced through

the windowpane,

then through the scaffolds,

and I could see the steaming

bowl of corn on her head

as she walks down the sidewalk.

Suddenly she begins to run

chased down by the rains.

She’s heavy but there are

no houses around,

no bus stops, and no shades.

Empathy was looking

from that building, and again,

she reminds me of her…

I saw him,

he had just traveled a long distance

only to come take her home.

She’s his only daughter

and he loved her

like God loved his own.

I couldn’t help but stare and smile,

couldn’t stop my lips from saying,

you remind me of him…

Leave a Reply

